I Dream of Genie. Or Do I?

The next dream I can recall (if I’m to keep with the timeline of my life) would be what I’d consider to be my first psychic attack. I was probably eight or so years old. In all honesty though, I just remember being really young when I had this dream, so the given age might not be quite accurate. Regardless, this was a strange dream to have. Every time I recollect this dream to someone, they give me a look as though I’m a crazy person and need psychiatric care.

In the dream, I’m the same age as I am in waking life. I’m inside what looks like would be the inside of a genie’s bottle/lamp. The walls are round and padded with red cushioning and drapes surrounded by large red cushions to sit on. Something like this cushion here:

cushion

(Photo credit to Fulya Karahan Dursun)

The ceiling was low with a stained glass, round window in the center (if it were a genie bottle, this would presumably lead to the neck of the bottle). There was a red glow about the whole room. It was comfortable and warm. I was sitting with my legs crossed on one of the oversized persian cushions, holding a white, plastic clothes hanger in my hands. Who on earth knows WHY I was holding a plastic clothes hanger?! I dont! And yes, I do mean one of these:

hanger

(Photo credit: www.sears.com)

Nevertheless, what makes me think that this dream was my first psychic attack, is that as I was holding the clothes hanger, I accidentally snapped it in half. As I snapped it in half, there was an overwhelming sense that I had done something terribly wrong. THEN came the unbearable ringing in my ears and a tingling sensation throughout my whole body. A sense of impending doom was surrounding me and it felt as though something inherently evil was bearing down on me attempting to harm me.  Then I awoke.

I would have dreams like this a lot as a child. It would be utterly normal and in an instant would turn into an overwhelming sense of evil surrounding me. There would always be the ringing and always be the tingling from head to toe. I didn’t really know what was happening. What I DID know, was that my mother taught me how to defend myself in my mind. As I grew up in a Christian home, I was taught to say the name of Jesus Christ, in my dream. It worked. Every time I was dreaming and felt the impending evil, I would use this defense. Suffice it to say, those dreams stopped…until recently. (Don’t worry, I’ll explain in another post later on.)

What I also find interesting is that because of these particular dreams, I later developed a fear of sleeping a certain way. I HAD to have my Tweety pillow (don’t judge) facing a particular side, while laying on my right side, facing away from my window, with the door closed and a nightlight. Sure I was a child and these things aren’t too abnormal for a growing child. What is abnormal is that I’ve started doing this again…as a 23 year old…who has finished college, gotten a job, and is engaged. But I’m getting off track. If I didn’t  follow these particular rituals, I would have these psychic attack dreams.  Let’s just say, this wasn’t the last I dreamed of them.

Leave a comment